2014 SkillsUSA State Competition Winners

SkillsUSA Winners

SkillsUSA students honored Susan Kinney during the RAISE Foundation's Awards Banquet.

Congratulations to all graphic arts students that participated in this year's recent Skills USA State Competition!

The following students captured GOLD Medals:

Eric Cuahuizo - Cathedral City High School (Graphic Communications)
Christopher Rodriguez - Cathedral City High School (Screen Printing)
Emilio Recinos-Walsh - Eagle Rock High School (Graphic Imaging Sublimation)
Nolan Witt - Brea Olinda High School (T-Shirt Design)
Rozalyn Duffy - Abraham Friedman Occupational Center Los Angeles (Graphic Imaging Sublimation)
Rodolfo Montes - East Los Angeles Occupational Center (T-Shirt Design)
Nathan Ribelin - Riverside Community College (Graphic Communications)

Silver Medal Winners are:
Luis Anguiano - Woodrow Wilson High School (Graphic Communications)
Lara S. Jeffery - Eagle Rock High School (Screen Printing Technology)
Francisco Guillen - John F. Kennedy High School (T-Shirt Design)
Violet Blanco - Abraham Friedman Occupational Center (T-Shirt Design)

For a complete list of winners, please click here.


2014 T-Shirt Competition

First Place for Best Design and Best Production of the 2014 T-Shirt Competition went to Katherine Shinno of South Pasadena High School pictured below with her instructor.


Pictured below: Second Place for Design and Production went to Jeffrey Sebastian Lara of Eagle Rock High School. Third Place for Design was awarded to Mitra Mariano and Third Place for Production went to Esmeralda Hernandez both of Garfield High School.

2nd and 3rd Place

thank you note



Here's a Thank You note we received from South Pasadena winners:






2014 College Technical Competition


And the winners for the College Technical Design competition are…
First Place: Francisco Merino - East Los Angeles Occupational Center
Second Place: Melissa Koziel - Fullerton College
Third Place: Lili May Hall - Fullerton College

And the winners for College Technical Offset Production are...


First Place: Francisco Merino - East Los Angeles Occupational Center
Second Place: Christopher Marin - Fullerton College
Third Place: Runjhun Bhargava - Fullerton College

For more information contact Ara Izquierdo.


Competition Photo Albums

albums 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014


2007 Educator of the Year/Jack Simich Award


Steven G. Lindberg of Hart High School received the 2007 Jack Simich Award by Susan Kinney, PIASC Education Chair and Bill Guerra, PIASC Chairman. Click here for press release.

Past Educator of the Year Winners Include:
2007 - Steve Lindberg
2006 - Ralph Beas
2004 - Dr. Harvey Levenson
2003 - Dr. Ethan Lipton, Dr. Benjamin Lee
2002 - Dennis Howey, Dave McCormac
2001 - Artie W. Lindauer
2000 - Frederick S. Gershbein
1998 - John Santos
1996 - Jay Williams
1994 - Fr. Nicholas J. Reina
1993 - Ellen Abraham, Mary Tsotsis, Mark Hall
1992 - Philip J. Crispi